Something A Little Different Today…

I took a sick day yesterday to try and recover from this annoying cold/cough that has decided to take up residence in my head and lungs since Sunday.  I think I’m avoiding bronchitis which is amazing (touch wood!).  I feel a bit better today so hopefully I’m over the worst of it now.

I don’t work until 1 pm this afternoon so I figured I’d do a post on my favourite Oscar dresses from this year!  Seeing other people all dressed up while I’m feeling sick and looking my worst always makes me feel better haha

Oscars

Oscars (Photo credit: mobo85)

Did you guys watch the Oscar’s this year?  I thought there were some funny moments and some nice speech’s etc but Seth Macfarlane kind of fell flat as a host.  There seemed to be almost silence in the crowd when he was trying to be funny, maybe a couple pity laughs every now and then.  Considering he writes one of the funniest shows on TV (Family Guy) I thought he’d be amazing but wow was I wrong!

Anyway back to the best part…the dresses!!  My favourite of the night was probably Charlize Theron, that woman is insanely stunning.  She looked so statuesque and basically made everyone else look like they just stepped out of a trailer park.

Charlize Theron

Charlize Theron

My next favourite is Naomi Watts.  She picked something that most people wouldn’t, but it fit perfectly and looked amazing on her and it was nice to see something that wasn’t a nude colour and had ruffles!

Naomi Watts

Naomi Watts

Next on my list is the lovely Jessica Chastain.  She seemed to know there was no way she was going to beat Jennifer Lawrence and just had a great time the whole night.  Her dress is probably the prettiest I’ve seen her wear and she looked so ‘Old Hollywood Glamour’.

Jessica Chastain

Jessica Chastain

Then obviously…the favourite person of the whole award season…Jennifer Lawrence.  The girl can literally do no wrong at the moment.  Every girl wants to be her best friend (me included!) and every guy wants to date her.  She is so likeable and has charmed the whole world.  I’m not a massive fan of her dress but I can’t hate it because I love her so much!

Jennifer Lawrence

Jennifer Lawrence

She even made falling up the stairs when accepting her Oscar look good!  Some genius made this spoof Dior ad because Jennifer is their new spokesperson and this is too perfect.

Spoof Dior Ad

Spoof Dior Ad

Then the worst of the night…Anne Hathaway.  I’m so over this girl I didn’t even want to include her.  Her acceptance speeches have been crazy, all the fake humbleness and heavy breathing have just been too much.
She had a beautiful Valentino dress to wear and ended up switching to this one three hours before the red carpet.  WHYYY?? WHY WOULD YOU DO THAT!????  This dress is a horrible material, unflattering and boring.  For someone who is a sure thing to win Best Supporting Actress she would’ve known these pictures would haunt her forever so the dress should be timeless and amazing.  Apparently the dress she was supposed to wear was too similar to Amanda Seyfried‘s but really…pick the best one and say screw it if it looks like someone elses!
The dress she wore:

Anne Hathaway

Anne Hathaway

The dress she was supposed to wear, next to Amanda Seyfried’s dress:

Amanda Seyfried on the left and a model wearing the Valentino dress Anne Hathaway was supposed to wear on the right

Amanda Seyfried on the left and a model wearing the Valentino dress Anne Hathaway was supposed to wear on the right

I could definitely sit here all day and comment on everyone’s dress choices but that would be the longest post ever so I’ll just keep it to these!

This post was a little different to the usual ones where I talk about Rob and I and what we’ve been up to.  Seeing as I’m sick and doing nothing but work and trying to get better, and the Oscar’s are one of my favourite nights of the year, I figured this would be fun!  Hope you guys liked it!  Who’s dress did you love?  And hate?  Did the movies that you wanted get the award?  (So happy Argo won Best Picture, and Daniel Day-Lewis was funnier in his two minute speech than Seth Macfarlane was the whole night!)

Ok off to make myself look presentable and get to work 🙂

Leave a Reply

