Merry Christmas!

Are you all finished your Christmas shopping?  Getting down to the wire now!  The weather around these parts is bloody awful at the moment so I’m glad I’m all done and don’t have to battle the crowds while getting blown around and rained on!  We do have to leave the house later today for a doctors appointment for my Mum in Bath so hopefully this storm has calmed down a little by then, though this is tame compared to the crazy ice storm in North America at the moment.  Not looking like we’ll be having a white Christmas this year!

Rob and I are heading up to his family’s house in the afternoon on Christmas day, so we’ll get to spend the first half of the day with my family and the second half with his.  I haven’t seen his family in ages so it’ll be nice to spend a few days there.  I think we’re planning on staying up there for New Years Eve, so we’ll also get to hit up the Trafford Centre in Manchester for some Boxing day sales!  It’s such a great mall so I’m pretty excited to hang out there and get some good deals.  I’m after a small Panasonic Lumix camera if possible, I love my Nikon DSLR but it’s massive so half the time we don’t bring it out with us because it’s too much of a hassle carrying it around.

It’s feeling very Christmassy around here, with our tree twinkling every evening, the presents all wrapped, mince pies for dessert most nights, and our Christmas cake being enjoyed with a cup of tea most afternoons!  We don’t make our Christmas cake from scratch, we buy one then marzipan and ice it ourselves.  My Mum usually does this but this year the reins where handed to me.  Rob ended up doing the marzipan and then a few days later I iced it.  I’m very good at eating cake (it’s one of my favourite things to do) but have never actually iced a cake before.  It went better than I thought it would, I tried to make it look like snow so I didn’t have to worry about it being smooth at all, much easier!

In other news, I’m getting my hair cut tomorrow!  I’ve just let it grow for ages and the last time I had it cut was just over a year ago (crazy I know!)  so it’s definitely about time.  No drastic change though so there won’t be any shocked faces when I get home.

This will probably be my last post before the big day, so I’d like to wish everyone a fantastic Christmas full of fun, family and food!  It really is the most wonderful time of the year!
Enjoy!

🙂

PS.  Have just watched the Apple Christmas advert and it makes me cry every time!  It’s the one with the teenage boy who seems like he’s more interested in his phone than spending time with his family…

Here’s the video:

Such a lovely advert!

Anyway, enough mushy stuff, time to go and have a nice cup of tea and a piece of Christmas cake!

One thought on “Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

